High School Football

High school football champions and scores Updated 1 year ago
Share This Page

University Interscholastic League (UIL)

The University Interscholastic League, which governs literary and athletic competition among schools in Texas, was organized in 1910 as a division of the University of Texas extension service. Initially, it sponsored forensic competition. By 1920, the UIL organized the structure of the high school football game in response to the growing popularity of the sport in Texas. Town football teams had begun competing around the state in the early 1890s.

From 1920 until 1947, the UIL named only one state football champion for the larger schools. Smaller schools were limited to regional titles. Beginning in 1948, champions were named by divisions based on school enrollment, with the introduction of City, AA and A divisions.

Over the years, other adjustments have been made in determining the divisions, so that today the divisions range from six-man competition for the smaller schools, designated 1A in 2014, to the largest 6A schools. In the 1990s, subdivisions were added within 2A-5A divisions, with the larger schools included in the Division I. Subdivisions were added to the two other divisions for the season competition in 2006.

Following are listed the champions by UIL division, along with the runner up, and the points scored by each team in the championship game. Included in years 1940-68 are the teams competing in the Prairie View Interscholastic League (PVIL, first called the Interscholastic League of Colored Schools). Between 1965 and 1968, the schools were integrated into the UIL.

Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools (TAPPS)

The Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools (TAPPS) is the largest group of private schools in the state with more than 225 schools. The interscholastic competition began in 1978 and was significantly expanded when the Texas Christian Interscholastic League ceased to exist in 2000 and many of those schools moved into TAPPS.

Southwest Preparatory Conference (SPC)

The Southwest Preparatory Conference (SPC), established in 1952, is an athletic conference of certain private schools in Oklahoma and Texas.

(OT refers to overtime.)

Sources: The University Interscholastic League at uiltexas.org and other sources.

YearDivisionChampionRunner Up
1A Division IWestbrook 72May 66
1A Division IIStrawn 73Motley County (Matador) 28
2A Division IShiner 47Hawley 12
2A Division IIStratford 39Falls City 27
3A Division ILorena 35Brock 18
3A Division IIFranklin 49Gunter 35
4A Division IStephenville 38Austin Johnson 21
4A Division IIChina Spring 31Gilmer 7
5A Division IKaty Paetow 27 (OT)College Station 24
5A Division IISouth Oak Cliff (Dallas) 23Liberty Hill 14
6A Division IGalena Park North Shore 17Duncanville 10
6A Division IIAustin Westlake 40Denton Guyer 21
11-Man Football
Division IParish Episcopal 56Midland Christian 17
Division IIDallas Christian 33Second Baptist 14
Division IIICypress Christian (Houston) 16Trinity Christian (Lubbock) 7
Division IVSt. Paul Catholic (Shiner) 36Sacred Heart Catholic (Muenster) 8
6-Man Football
Division IThe Emery/Weiner School 69San Marcos Academy 24
Division IILive Oak Classical 46Faith Academy of Marble Falls 41
Division IIICovenant Classical (Fort Worth) 68Bracken Christian 66
1A Division ISterling City 68May 22
1A Division IIBalmorhea 74Richland Springs 38
2A Division IShiner 42Post 20
2A Division IIWindthorst 22Mart 21
3A Division ITuscola Jim Ned 29Hallettsville 28
3A Division IICanadian 35Franklin 34
4A Division IArgyle 49Lindale 21
4A Division IICarthage 70Gilmer 14
5A Division IDenton Ryan 59Cedar Park 14
5A Division IIAledo 56Crosby 21
6A Division IAustin Westlake 52Southlake Carroll 34
6A Division IIKaty 51Cedar Hill 14
Division IDallas Parish Episcopal 42Fort Worth Nolan Catholic 28
Division IIAustin Regents 26Dallas Christian 20
Division IIIColleyville Covenant 40Houston Cypress Christian 30
Division IVShiner St. Paul 63Waco Reicher Catholic 13
1A Division IBlum 58McLean 52
1A Division IIRichland Springs 62Matador Motley County 16
2A Division IRefugio 28Post 7
2A Division IIMart 25Hamlin 20
3A Division IGrandview 42Pottsboro 35
3A Division IIGunter 43Omaha Pewitt 22
4A Division ICarthage 42Waco La Vega 28
4A Division IITexarkana Pleasant Grove 35Wimberley 21
5A Division IAlvin Shadow Creek 28Denton Ryan 22
5A Division IIAledo 45Fort Bend Marshall 42
6A Division IGalena Park North Shore 31Duncanville 17
6A Division IIAustin Westlake 24Denton Guyer 0
Division IDallas Parish Episcopal 42Plano John Paul II 14
Division IICedar Hill Trinity 48Austin Regents 19
Division IIIBoerne Geneva 49Lubbock Christian 21
Division IVShiner St. Paul 20Hallettsville Sacred Heart 16
3A DivisionFort Worth Country Day 41The Woodlands John Cooper 0
4A DivisionBellaire Episcopal 42Houston Kinkaid 21
1A Division IMcLean 100Milford 70
1A Division IIStrawn 48Follett 0
2A Division IMason 44New Deal 6
2A Division IIMart 76Gruver 33
3A Division IGrandview 35Malakoff 21
3A Division IINewton 21Canadian 16
4A Division ILa Vega (Waco) 35Liberty Hill 21
4A Division IICuero 40Pleasant Grove (Texarkana) 28
5A Division IHighland Park (Dallas) 27Alvin Shadow Creek 17
5A Division IIAledo 55Fort Bend Marshall 19
6A Division INorth Shore (Houston) 41Duncanville 36
6A Division IILongview 35Beaumont West Brook 34
Division IDallas Bishop Dunne 13Dallas Bishop Lynch 9
Division IICedar Hill Trinity 49Austin Regents 24
Division IIIWillow Park Trinity Christian 15Boerne Geneva 14
Division IVShiner St. Paul 29Fort Worth Lake Country 21
Division VKaty St. John XXIII 38San Antonio St. Mary’s Hall 27
1A Division IBorden County 60Jonesboro 22
1A Division IIStrawn 78Balmorhea 42
2A Division IMart 34Refugio 21
2A Division IIMuenster 27Tenaha 20
3A Division IRockdale 45Brock 29
3A Division IINewton 40Gunter 16
4A Division ICarthage 49Kennedale 21
4A Division IIPleasant Grove 41West Orange-Stark 21
5A Division IHighland Park (Dallas) 53Manvel 49
5A Division IICollege Station 20Aledo 19
6A Division IAllen 35Lake Travis (Austin) 33
6A Division IICypress-Fairbanks 51Midway (Waco) 35
Division IPlano Prestonwood Christian 42Houston St. Pius 41
Division IICedar Hill Trinity 62Austin Regents 30
Division IIIHouston Cypress Christian 68McKinney Christian 34
Division IVColleyville Covenant 14The Woodlands Legacy Prep 0
Division VEl Paso Cathedral 31Houston Village School 28
Share This Page

It doesn't get any more Texan than this…

Purchase your copy of the brand new Texas Almanac today!

Buy now »