State Musicians of Texas

The Texas state musicians are selected for one-year appointments by the Texas Poet Laureate, State Musician and State Artist Committee. Updated 2 years ago
Share This Page
Billy Joe Shaver sitting in a diner

Billy Joe Shaver

Billy Joe Shaver, state musician for 2006. File photo.

A committee of seven members appointed by the governor, lieutenant governor, and speaker of the House selects the state musician based on recommendations from the Texas Commission on the Arts.

YearMusican, Hometown/Residence
2003James Dick, Round Top
2004Ray Benson, Austin
2005Johnny Gimble, Tyler
2006Billy Joe Shaver, Waco
2007Dale Watson, Pasadena/Austin
2008Shelley King, Austin
2009Willie Nelson, Abbott/Austin
2010Sara Hickman, Austin
2011Lyle Lovett, Klein
2012Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top), Houston
2013Craig Hella Johnson, Austin
2014Flaco Jiménez, San Antonio
2015Jimmie Vaughn, Dallas/Austin
2016Joe Ely, Lubbock, Austin
2017George Strait, Poteet/San Antonio
2018Marcia Ball, Orange/Austin
2019Little Joe Hernandez, Temple/San Antonio
2020Emily Gimble, Austin
Share This Page

It doesn't get any more Texan than this…

Purchase your copy of the brand new Texas Almanac today!

Buy now »