Dye, also known as Dye Mound, is a farming community ten miles southeast of Montague on a spur off Farm Road 3206 in southeastern Montague County. Its settlement occurred in 1880, and the community developed around J. D. Bybee's general store. A post office branch operated at Dye from 1884 to 1905. Throughout its history Dye has functioned as a community center for area farmers. Its recorded population has never exceeded sixty, and from the late 1940s through the 1990s no population estimates were available. In 1961 three dwellings and a church were in the vicinity. The 1983 county highway map showed a cemetery there. In 2000 the population was 200.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Dye is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town, county, or lake of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Dye is classified as a Town

Associated Names

  • [-Mound]


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call Texas home?

Put your name on the town, county, or lake of your choice.

Search Places »

Dye by the Numbers

This is some placeholder text that we should either remove or replace with a brief summary about this particular metric. For example, "We update population counts once per year..."

Pop. Year Source
30 2009 Local Officials