Haynesville, also known as Punkin Center, is five miles north of Electra on State Highway 25/240 in northwestern Wichita County. The community was established in 1890 and derived its name from that of Henry Haynes, a county commissioner and local farmer. The community developed in the early 1900s because of the paving of State Highway 25. Haynes built a general store on the newly paved road, and a service station also opened there. Haynesville has also had other businesses, including cotton gins, a beer hall, and a liquor store. During the twentieth century its population has ranged from sixty to 100 residents. In 1990 Haynesville reported a population of sixty. The community is also known locally as Punkin Center. Once a settlement separate from but very near Haynesville, Punkin Center, according to local lore, derived its name from a pumpkin painted on a sign advertising a local blacksmith. With the paving of State Highway 25, the two communities grew together and took the name Haynesville, though Punkin Center remains a commonly used nickname and appears below the official name on local signs.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Haynesville is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town or county of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Haynesville is classified as a Town

Associated Names

  • (Punkin Center)


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »

Haynesville by the Numbers

This is some placeholder text that we should either remove or replace with a brief summary about this particular metric. For example, "We update population counts once per year..."

Pop. Year Source
65 2009 Local Officials