Joy is a small church community at the crossing of Farm Road 1252 (old Thunderstruck Road) and an unnamed thoroughfare, north of Interstate 20 in extreme eastern Smith County. Prairie Creek flows to its north and west, and Wright Mountain is to its south. The area, originally part of the Oscar Hawkins League, began to develop when small farmers moved in after the Civil War. Subsistence crops such as corn, field peas, and ribbon cane were grown, as well as small amounts of cotton. The cotton was hauled by wagon overland to Starrville, Browning, or the W. C. Smith gin in Gregg County. Joy was granted a post office on April 29, 1892, with Silas F. Meritt as postmaster. He served for only seven months before the office moved to nearby Gladewater on November 18, 1892.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Joy is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town or county of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Joy is classified as a Town


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »