McCraven, a former community in northeastern Washington County, derived its name from its first postmaster, R. McCraven. In 1892 the town had several mills and a general store. With the decline of neighboring Lott, McCraven obtained a United States post office, on March 12, 1890. Lott R. Whiting was postmaster from February 1891 until December 1906, when Cordelia N. Whitmore became postmistress. McCraven's post office closed on April 30, 1908.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

McCraven is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town, county, or lake of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

McCraven is classified as a Town

Associated Names

  • (Lott)
  • (Whiting's Farm)


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call Texas home?

Put your name on the town, county, or lake of your choice.

Search Places »