Murray, at the intersection of Farm roads 209 and 578, fourteen miles southwest of Graham in southwestern Young County, was settled in 1874 by Thomas Price. J. J. Murray soon followed Price, and the two pioneers hunted buffalo and in 1875 made the first wagon passage through the Double Fork Mountains. Other pioneers included Russell Tyre, R. K. Mayes, and the Carmack and Walsh families. The new town was named for Murray when the post office was established in 1880. By 1886 a community of twenty-seven Methodists worshipped together, and a new church was built in 1907. Murray had a population of twenty-nine in 1980; by then the post office had been closed. The population was still recorded as twenty-nine in 1990. The population grew to forty-five in 2000.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Murray is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town, county, or lake of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Murray is classified as a Town

Associated Names

  • [Fort-]
  • (Prairie View)


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »

Murray by the Numbers

This is some placeholder text that we should either remove or replace with a brief summary about this particular metric. For example, "We update population counts once per year..."

Pop. Year Source
29 2014 Official Website