Prairie Springs

Prairie Springs was a farming community on State Highway 64 ten miles southeast of Canton in southeastern Van Zandt County. The Prairie Springs Methodist Episcopal Church South was founded there in 1866. In 1893 the congregation moved the church to a site in Ben Wheeler on the Edom and Canton Road. By 1987 only a cemetery with a historical marker remained at the former townsite of Prairie Springs.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Prairie Springs is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town or county of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Prairie Springs is classified as a Town


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »