Rocky Mountain

Rocky Mountain, also known as Rocky Mount, on State Highway 103 twenty-two miles southeast of Nacogdoches in southeastern Nacogdoches County, was established after the Civil War. Rocky Mount school was in operation by 1904, when it had an enrollment of twenty-one. During the 1930s Rocky Mountain had a school and a number of houses. The school was closed around the time of World War II, and in the early 1990s only a few scattered houses remained in the area.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Rocky Mountain is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town or county of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Rocky Mountain is classified as a Town

Associated Names

  • [Rocky Mount]


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »