Russell, twelve miles northwest of Canton in northwest Van Zandt County, was a switch on the Texas and Pacific Railway and later the site of an abandoned railroad station. The town was named for Eric Russell, who owned the site. The Memorial Methodist Church, founded in 1875, was destroyed by a tornado and rebuilt in 1890. A population of ten recorded in 1930 had postal service from Wills Point, but by 1936 only scattered dwellings remained. Subsequent state highway maps no longer listed the community.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Russell is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town or county of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Russell is classified as a Town

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »