Walthall (Walthal) was east of the Colorado River five miles southeast of Ballinger in southeast Runnels County. The town was started about 1875, when a telegraph station was established by William Hightower on a new line running from Camp Colorado to Fort Concho. Within a short time a stage stop for the Dallas-Fort Concho route was added. Hightower also served as the first postmaster when the post office was established in 1877. The Walthall Baptist Church was organized in 1879 with Thomas W. Cotten as pastor. When commissioners met in the community to organize Runnels County in 1880, Cotten offered his stone residence as a temporary courthouse. Walthall served as the first county seat of Runnels County, from March 10 to April 17, 1880, when a new site was selected on Elm Creek. The post office closed in 1881. No indication of the community existed on 1980 county maps.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Walthall is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town or county of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Walthall is classified as a Town

Associated Names

  • [Walthal]
  • (Guest's Station)


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »