Westville was a black rural community two miles south of Cuero in central DeWitt County. The community centers were a school and Mount Herman Baptist Church, both established in 1887. Members continued to attend the church until 1958, after the population had moved to Cuero. The school was probably closed by 1950, when most schools in the county had been consolidated.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Westville is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town or county of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Westville is classified as a Town


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »