Mott is near the Angelina River between Boggy Creek and Bayou Creek in extreme southeast Angelina County. The settlement was named for J. H. Mott, owner of a gristmill, general store, and cotton gin, and was the site of a sawmill in the 1880s. Thomas L. Mott was the first postmaster when the post office was opened in 1871. A room in Mott's cabin, hewn from virgin pine timbers, once served southeastern Angelina County as a post office. In 1888 R. W. Haltom described the town as "a small trading point with a store and post office." In 1890 Mott had fifty people, a church, and a school. In 1904 it was called a "postal village" in the Gazetteer of Texas. In 1910 the population was twenty-five. No population was reported in 1912 or thereafter, though postal service continued. In 1921 the Mott post office was discontinued and mail service transferred to Turpentine, in Jasper County. Much of the area once covered by the Mott community is now the waters of Sam Rayburn Reservoir.

Continue Reading

Megan Biesele | © TSHA

Handbook of Texas Logo

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Mott is part of or belongs to the following places:

Currently Exists


Place type

Mott is classified as a Town

Associated Names

  • (New Hope)


Latitude: 31.20741250
Longitude: -94.32825500

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated