Needmore, also known as Jernigan, Pecan, Pecan Branch, and Eureka, is a small farming community at the intersection of Farm Road 3132 and a dirt road, between Barnett Creek and the West Fork of Jernigan Creek 1½ miles southeast of Yowell in southwestern Delta County. The area was inhabited during the Republic of Texas era, and in 1850 local residents organized the Jernigan Baptist Church under the leadership of pastor Will Cummings. In 1873 a post office called Pecan (for the local trees) opened, with John W. Pratt as postmaster. By 1882 D. P. Holland had constructed a gristmill, and the population of the community was reported as 100. The post office name was changed to Needmore in 1886. By 1890 the town had Pratt's general store, a blacksmith, a large cotton gin, the office of physician J. M. Logsdon, three gristmills, and three carpenters. By 1892 Logsdon was running the post office, and a municipal government had been established. The school district had been formed as Eureka, and in 1893 the Baptist congregation, which had lost its church in a storm, began meeting in the school building.

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Needmore is part of or belongs to the following places.

Adopt a Town

The Texas Almanac's Land Rush program lets you adopt the town or county of your choice and share your message with the world. 100% of the proceeds benefit education in Texas.

Currently Exists


Place type

Needmore is classified as a Town

Associated Names

  • (Eureka)
  • (Pecan)


  • Latitude

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Proud to call TX home?

Put your name on the town or county of your choice.

Search Places »