Copper Canyon

Copper Canyon is a residential community located west of Interstate 35E about eight miles south of Denton in south central Denton County. The community incorporated on April 23, 1973, and adopted a mayor/council form of government. Robert B. Woodin served as the first mayor, and the council consisted of the town's founders, including Bill Ferris, Arthur Huston, and Betty Harmon. By 1979 the Copper Canyon town hall was completed. The community reported a population of 465 in 1980 and 978 in 1990. Copper Canyon has no commercial development and receives services such as police and fire protection from other area cities. In 2000 the population was 1,216.

Continue Reading

Laurie E. Jasinski | © TSHA

Handbook of Texas Logo

Adapted from the official Handbook of Texas, a state encyclopedia developed by Texas State Historical Association (TSHA). It is an authoritative source of trusted historical records.

Belongs to

Copper Canyon is part of or belongs to the following places:

Currently Exists


Place type

Copper Canyon is classified as a Town


Latitude: 33.09644440
Longitude: -97.09746500

Has Post Office


Is Incorporated


Population Count, 2021 View more »